Server rentals :: NFOservers.com

Forums

All times are UTC - 8 hours



Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:43 pm 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
Where do I acquire server files for mw3 to add to my vds ? also how do I run multiple instances of the game on my vds


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Posts: 10569
Location: Seattle
You'll want to start off by downloading the game with hldsupdatetool.

Code:
cd\game installs
hldsupdatetool -dir mw3base -game modernwarfare3 -command update -verify_all


Then, change to the MW3 folder and start up a server:

Code:
cd\game installs\mw3base
iw5mp_server.exe +set dedicated 2 +set net_port $port +set ui_maxclients $maxplayers +set sv_maxclients $maxplayers +start_map_rotate

Where $port and $maxplayers are your desired values.

This page also provides a little bit of information on configuring the server: http://sledgehammergames.com/blog/view/98


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:34 am 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks for the tut John, All worked well right up till I got the Invalid server configuration - insufficient cpu performance 5.7186 ghz for 18 clients. Minimum 9.0000 ghz required. message.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:13 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Posts: 10569
Location: Seattle
That bogus message pops up sometimes. Try restarting a few times -- usually you can eventually get it to start without it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:00 am 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
I have tried about 20 times, same message..I will try a few more times just for shits n giggles


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:11 am 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
Still same my friend. no go..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:03 pm 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
looks like the max slots I can run is 8..that works


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:28 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:04 pm
Posts: 10569
Location: Seattle
If you need to run higher, you might try dabbling with this addon: http://www.itsmods.com/forum/Thread-Rel ... addon.html. Bear in mind, though, that this will likely break with new game releases, so you'll need to keep it up to date. We also do not know if it is legal.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:57 pm 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks John, I have looked at that and another. looks like all those are currently not functioning since the last patch. version 1.4 only no one seems to have got anything going with our current patch. Kind of a bummer as I got the vds to try out mw3 on it..8 slots certainly wont be much of a test...not the servers fault..I am certain it will run at least one..perhaps two 18 slots servers without the bs cpu check. Looks like we wont be able to do alot of testing without moving to a larger vds.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:54 pm 
Offline
Staff
Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Posts: 1136
Location: Big Bear, CA
We have seen the same message ourselves and it will eventually restart without it, it just takes a lot of restarts sometimes. It seems you got pretty unlucky earlier, but I would recommend restarting some more until it goes.

_________________
TimeX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:41 pm 
Offline
A semi-regular
A semi-regular

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 pm
Posts: 22
Honestly, I must have tried it at least 40 times. wearing out my enter button.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:41 pm 
Offline
This is my homepage
This is my homepage

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 605
Why have they not patched these yet? I'm still waiting for them to release a stable update then I can run a server again. I get that message, and won't go away sometimes until you reboot it 20+ times.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:07 pm 
Offline
Staff
Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:24 am
Posts: 1136
Location: Big Bear, CA
I have seen it take far more than that at times as well. I should note here that it is best to wait a bit between restarts, about a good half minute. Don't try to restart it once every 5-10 seconds. You may have already been doing it that way, but I want to point that out for anyone that may be reading this.

_________________
TimeX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:52 pm 
Offline
Staff
Staff
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 3254
Location: California
Edge100x wrote:
If you need to run higher, you might try dabbling with this addon: http://www.itsmods.com/forum/Thread-Rel ... addon.html. Bear in mind, though, that this will likely break with new game releases, so you'll need to keep it up to date. We also do not know if it is legal.



The addon that John is mentioning does indeed work with the latest version of MW3. I would stay away from the plugins, as those tend to be slower to update.

If you do decide to run that addon, which I suggest you do. Be sure to set this in your sv_confg file.

SpecsFix=1
//Disable the CPU/Bandwidth check [0-1]

I have a fair amount of experience with this addon, so if you have any questions let me know.

_________________
@Kraze^NFo off
TimeX-NFo is now known as TimeX-NFo|away
<@Vanderburg> Am I supposed to be alone?
<@Vanderburg> DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CHILDREN UNATTENDED!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:25 pm 
Offline
This is my homepage
This is my homepage

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 605
Kraze, how long you been running a MW3? Also, is it a NFO one or personal?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:17 am
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group